• We are looking for you!
    Always wanted to join our Supporting Team? We are looking for enthusiastic moderators!
    Take a look at our recruitement page for more information and how you can apply:
    Apply

22 minimum wage. Will it kill many small business?

DeletedUser

And do you also agree that a unskilled worker should make the same as a skilled worker?

Interesting question Dom. I would say an employer needs to compare the market.com to ensure skilled workers are remunerated at a fair rate i.e test the rate of other skilled workers in the same field and ensure they are no worse off. As far as I am aware, and I am no expert on the US employment set up workers negotiate their rate of pay?

DeletedUser34

hahahahahaha, ok....no not true. And what happens in the US is they raise minimum wage, the percentage does NOT increase across the board. So as I have previously stated, you make 9.00 an hour here minimum wage.....I make 12.00 for doing something I have done 19 years...hardly fair...just saying.

DeletedUser

Ok. I am only aware of professionals who moved to US and negotiated their rate of pay before starting, how they fare now I don't know. However, I do think that suppressing wages is never a good thing. It does the economy no good at all. The onus is on workers to ensure their rate of pay is fair and that is the never ending battle between the employed and da management :)

*Arturis*

I am living in San Jose CA, the city just passed the minimum wage of 10/hour from 8/hour. The pizza hut I used to go get pizza had a pizza of the same size and toppings 10USD now 15USD. The affect for this raise of price is less people will go to buy a pizza which will force the owner to lay off worker because of less business. In the end, it will hurt the workers most as now they will have no job.

DeletedUser

When consumers have better wages, they spend more. How can that be bad for small businesses?

DeletedUser3422