• We are looking for you!
    Always wanted to join our Supporting Team? We are looking for enthusiastic moderators!
    Take a look at our recruitement page for more information and how you can apply:
    Apply

Learning the battlefield

ol man Rufus

I am relatively new to FoE but also a "long timer" in age. I suck at attacking either PvP or GE. I've tried to find examples on YouTube but most videos are of a later time involving troops I am not familiar.

Does any one have a link to a video or an article that can help me learn the "how too", particularly with early troops of the Iron/Early Middle Age level. I don't know how to plan: I get a warrior on a horse beside a lessor foot soldier and still lose: even my archers get beat. I don't know how to read the display at the bottom of the screen.
I need help so I can enjoy this aspect of the game and support my Guild.

Thanks
RufusXZ

DeletedUser3882

@RufusXZ
1) Are you using a Mobile App or playing on a PC/browser? I only ask because browser is *much* easier in seeing the movement and attack range of all the units as you hover your mouse. Mobile is simply easier to access, but lacks, ummmmm, “depth” in many aspects :)

2) Google is your friend, but sticking to the official means, here’s a link to the FoE wiki site’s military basics. Pay attention to the different unit types, buffs, and special skills.
https://en.wiki.forgeofempires.com/index.php?title=Army_and_battles
Each unit has a bonus vs another unit type and further bonus on certain terain (hills, trees, etc...). Learning these attributes and using them correctly is a big part of the strategy. It’s not always easy and a difficult battle can be compared to a game of chess!

3) Quickest search for a video I could find, but here’s one of literal thousands! Iron Age GvG but shows what’s up...

ol man Rufus

Oh thank you heybo, very much!!
I use my PC most of the time but I also log in on my Mobile for time sensitive stuff if I am mobile LOL :confused: