• We are looking for you!
    Always wanted to join our Supporting Team? We are looking for enthusiastic moderators!
    Take a look at our recruitement page for more information and how you can apply:
    Apply

Do Advanced Players Care About City Defense?

Brutus Strungth

I've been playing for about 6 years. Early on, I was obsessed with city defense. I took getting plundered as a personal violation, so I loaded up my city with Ritual Flames, Watchfires, and every other means to make players with twice my stats sorry they tried me.
Now, I'm in Tomorrow Era, I have around 59 million ranking points, and a level 48 Galata. Like many, my city is maxed out on space, I've bought all medal expansions, and I have a lot of special event buildings that make a lot of goods. I usually rank about 5th in my neighborhood, so I rarely get hit anymore. Also, I produce enough goods that it wouldn't be a big deal if someone got by my Galata and grabbed a few of them.
I have gotten rid of many of those Watchfires and Ritual Flames, but there are still a fair number filling in various gaps in my layout. I'm thinking of making them all go away. It even occurred to me that I could scrap my Deal Castle, and use the space for an Arctic Orangery, or fit a couple of event buildings in that 7x7 space.

So, that sets up my question. After your game reaches a certain point, does city defense even matter?

Ironrooster

When I started I used the defense buildings because I had the space. But over time I removed them all so I could use other buildings, GBs, event buildings, etc. All my city defense is from event buildings that do other things and the castle which just includes it. As you point out, after awhile you have so much going that a plunder just isn't a big deal.

But I have seen a few players with high city defense in PVP even in SAAB where I am.

xivarmy