• We are looking for you!
    Always wanted to join our Supporting Team? We are looking for enthusiastic moderators!
    Take a look at our recruitement page for more information and how you can apply:
    Apply

Secrets of a Trader

jsc29

Between Iron Age and Colonial I traded very actively and it was the primary way for me to make income in Forge of Empires. At one point I was running 300 listings at a time for over 15,000 goods, averaging 50 goods per trade. I was turning over about 7,500 goods per day at a 10% profit, netting me around 750 goods every day. Every night it took several hours to go through my trades and post new ones. If this sounds like fun to you, then read on.

The first thing I did when I started trading was to determine the relative demand for goods, because that would help me know which goods might command higher prices than others. What I did is go through the tech tree and add up the total amount of each good required for research per age. I also looked up how big the production building that made the goods was as well. This is important, because the bigger the production building, the harder it is to build it and the fewer of them there will be. Below I show an excerpt of my spreadsheet which I called "Goods_Required":

screenshot-Thu Dec 17 08:07:54 PM EST 2020.png
The second column records how much of the good my guild had in its treasury. For example, at the time of the snapshot the guild had about 16,000 Copper in the treasury. The fourth column has the number of tiles the production building takes up. For example, a Ropery is a 2x3 building so it takes up 6 tiles. The next seven columns show how many of each good the age shown requires for research. For example, to research all the technologies in High Middle Ages (HMA) takes 60 granite. The two columns on the right indicate my preferred up trades and down trades for each good, based on all the statistics and my general experience.