• We are looking for you!
    Always wanted to join our Supporting Team? We are looking for enthusiastic moderators!
    Take a look at our recruitement page for more information and how you can apply:
    Apply

[Question] Advance through ages or wait for a GB?

DeletedUser

Hey all!

I'm fairly new to this game and I'm still trying to figure a lot of things out and I think I've reached my first big crosspath and I have no idea what to do.

Here's my situation:
I'm ready to advance to High Middle Ages but I'm not sure if this is a good move right now since I have NONE GB.
I repeat NONE!

What would you do If you where me?
I know that everyone has his own strategy but hey let's hear some thoughts! :)

Last edited by a moderator:

DeletedUser8428

GB are not required for advancement. They are helpful, the lack is not a game killer. Leaving your stuff laying around for your neighbors to steal out from under your nose - now that is a game killer.

DeletedUser

Maybe it's not a game killer but can make your game more difficult?
Don't have problem with plundering (at least until now). No attack has ever passed.

DeletedUser8428

Sure, having GB to produce goods, FP, etc are helpful in any era. But working your way quickly through the tech tree or going slowly is a personal preference. In early eras, I moved quickly. By the time I got to LMA, I was moving more slowly to build up my goods and resources.

DeletedUser13838

If your hood still has players in Bronze/Iron age (or buildings from there) then stay in EMA until you at least get the BPs for LOA and Zeus at least (I also like babel). Then you should be able to get the BPs for Hagia and Aachen at your leisure. They are all worth having IMO. If you advance too fast you will be less likely to have players with the necessary buildings n your hood.

Also do your best to fill up your friends list with players in the age of GBs you're trying to get.

DeletedUser